NEW DUI LAWS: Effective November 1, 2011: If you refused to take the breath/blood test or your BAC result was a .15 or higher, then you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car for two years. If you have a prior license revocation, then you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car for up to 8 years.
Under Oklahoma law, it only takes a driving under the influence charge (NOT a Conviction) for Oklahoma to immediately suspend your driver’s license.
You must schedule a driver’s license suspension hearing with the Department of Public Safety within 15 days of your arrest in order to contest the suspension of your license. A driver’s license suspension hearing is a Department of Public Safety (DPS) administrative hearing. The DPS administrative hearing is separate from any criminal DUI proceedings.
The consequences are serious for a DUI conviction. For a first offense, you might have your driver’s license suspended, your professional license suspended, pay expensive fines, and possibly spend time in jail. However, a first time DUI will usually be filed as a misdemeanor and the sentence deferred. In the case of a motor accident though, if the investigating police officer deems you to have been driving under the influence then the consequences can be much more severe, often resulting in jail time. Your best course of action would be hiring Oklahoma City Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers to represent you during the ensuing trial hearing.
Call the Cortes Law Firm today for a free case evaluation: 405.213.0856
The Cortes Law Firm is conveniently located off Broadway Extension with plenty of free parking.